Logo Ville de Luxembourg

One of the main tasks of a city is the preservation and enhancement of its architectural heritage. The museum has been installed, therefore, in four restored residential houses dating from the 17th to the 19th century, still bearing archaeological traces from the Middle Ages. An archaeological study provided an insight into the chronology of the buildings, while at the same time enriching the architecture and the museological aspect of the premises. Two perfect examples of how to adapt old buildings to the expectations of the modern-day museum visitor are the "floating" glass façade and the panoramic lift that passes through the entire height of the museum, offering amazing views to the visitor.

The museum's architecture is striking in its sheer verticality that reflects the configuration of a city characterised by the contrast between upper and lower levels, of which 6 are open to the public.

The panoramic lift is a fascinating example of the successful adaptation of an old building to the expectations of modern-day museum visitors.  The glass cage of the lift passes through the entire height of the museum. The cage is a room in itself, with a surface area of 18 m2, and can hold up to 65 people. Thanks to its transparent walls and reduced pace, the public is able to admire the rock foundations visible on the lower levels and the panoramic view of the Grund district and Rham plateau on the upper levels. The lift travels through more than 1000 years of history in a few minutes, showing the urban stratification of the city of Luxembourg throughout the centuries.

Architecture: Conny Lentz - 1996
Architecture and museography : Adeline Rispal for Repérages - 1996